29 April 2006

I Hold Embarassing Opinions About Music

I saw in someone's away message today an observation about the similarity of the songs "Under Pressure" and "Ice, Ice Baby." This motivated me to pull out my Queen and listen to it and dance around like a maniac.

I know I am terminally unhip when it comes to music. I recognize a lot of band names from hanging out with a lot of indie music kids freshman year. But when it comes to street cred--I got nothing. If I see a group live and one of the members is cute and either their lyrics or music hooks me, I'm probably in and I'll stay loyal to the death. (and here I am thinking specifically of my rock star boyfriend Matt Nathanson)

It's kind of how I feel about art. If I can't feel a personal connection almost immediately, I'll write it off as "not for me." But when it is for me, it's for me for a while. That's what happened with ZOX, and with the Good Luck Joes.

I unironically like bands that it was impossible to like without irony when they were new: Boston. Chicago. The exceptionally emo albums of Weezer. 50's and 60's bubblegum pop. The Beach Boys.

And I like music that will never lose its appeal: The Temptations. Frank Sinatra. Simon and Garfunkel. The Beatles, the early stuff.

And then there's just the random stuff. Queen. Cake. (for which I have a passion with depths previously unplumbed) Placebo, which is exactly the same as tons of other whiny emo music that I hate. Spoon, of whose songs I have listened to exactly two, but I have listened to those two a total of eighteen times in the past two weeks. One hit wonders from the 80s.

It goes on and on and on. I listened to a lot of oldies during my formative years, and Boston was the first group I ever saw live. (They are one of my dad's favorite bands. My father is also devoid of irony when it comes to music tastes.)

The point, I suppose, if I even have one, is that I have long since given up on being embarassed about my taste in music. I know it's weird, and not cool, and never going to impress anyone. That's okay. As long as there's music to dance around in my underwear to, I'm okay.

1 comment:

Kristen said...

We were talking about your blog at our writing meeting this weekend and I had to stop by and leave a comment on how much I do enjoy it. I too am terribly unhip when it comes to music and I wonder if I'll finally feel old when I no longer like new music but wish for the salad days of Madonna in her 50's and Death cab For Cutie.