I just got off the phone with my parents. After 45 minutes. Of really excellent conversation.
We talked about my schedule for the fall semester, and why I should take the ochem lab instead of the journalism class. As my dad says "It's not like you can't write." Which is always nice to hear. And it means I'll be able to have a chemistry minor.
We talked about my options for graduate school degree programs to pursue, such as cardiology, neuroscience with a strong emphasis on learning theory, and perhaps ecology. I'm registered for an ecology class in the fall, and we'll see how that goes.
The thing is, I've loved my physics undergraduate training. But I'm tired of it. I'm tired of theory. I'm tired of chasing fucking ivory towers and proving things that only other physicists will care about. I'm ready to get my hands dirty. I'm ready to work in a wet lab. I'm ready to use a microscope again. I'm ready to put my rigorous training to good use and do something that will make the papers, not the textbooks.
And then I'm ready to quit and write about it. Tell everyone all about science. How it works. What makes good science and a trustworthy source. The proper use of skepticism.
I told my parents tonight that I feel like I'm finally at the point where my life makes sense. (at this point, my dad yells "yippee!!" into the phone. I kid not.) I know sort of where I want to be in five years. I know exactly where I want to be for the next year and a half. I've got a plan. I've got a relationship that makes sense. I am not screwing this up now.
Fucking a, I am so in love with everyone and everything and this damn fucking city that I want to stand on a roof and scream. I will conquer the world.
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
No comments:
Post a Comment